Written by Emilija - Reviewed by Tijana Google Workplace / Docs
Google Docs is one of the best free collaborative writing software. The tool has a user-friendly interface and many options that allow a smooth and easy working process.
There are many great features in Google Docs, but one of the best is the ability to comment. When more than one person is working on the same document and questions, edits, and suggestions need to be added; this option comes in handy.
However, in some instances, some users need to hide the comments. Hiding comments in Google Docs can be made in a few ways: by accepting the comments, using the viewing option, or deleting them altogether.
In this article, we will explore all these options, so you can select the one that suits you the most.
The commenting feature in Google Docs helps users easily collaborate by allowing them to add comments that won’t directly change the content in the document.
Users need to place the cursor where they want to comment, click on the commenting option, and start writing their suggestions in the box that appears next to the document. Google Docs will highlight the sentences in which the comment is addressed once users click the comment button.
Additionally, other users can comment back, mention other users, and create a smooth collaborative space within the document.
Hiding comments in Goole Docs can be made in a few different ways.
Accepting the comments will be the best option if you intend to remove the comments but revisit them later. This will remove the comments from the document but allow you to revisit the entire commenting history.
The viewing option will hide the comments for users with “viewing rights,” and the delete option will permanently delete all the comments.
To accept a comment in Google Docs, click on the checkmark, and the comment will be removed from the document.
To view the full commenting history, click on the commenting icon next to the share button. In the menu that pops up, you can choose to reopen and then comment or edit your comments.
By reopening the comments, you will see them next to the document you are working on once again.
📖 Also read: How to Turn Off Auto-Capitalization on Google Docs, Google Drive Window: How to Rename Drive.
By giving someone just “viewing rights,” you will “hide” the comments in Google Docs since the viewing mode won’t display the comments.
To set the viewing mode, click on the pencil icon in the top right corner and click on ‘Viewing’.
To delete a comment, click on the three dots, click delete and the comment will be removed.
Hiding comments in Google Documents can be made in a few different ways. Depending on the end goal, users can hide comments by accepting them, giving someone the ability to view the document or delete the comments permanently.
Hopefully, this guide helped you to understand the commenting option better and hide the comments you no longer want to see in your document.